So….how did it go? 

This was in fact, the first children’s ministry conference that the Assemblies of God has put on in several years. National AG kidmin director Mark Enzinger and his team put a lot of work into this meet up, for well over a year.  

Historically, the Assemblies of God has blazed an innovative trail in the field of children’s ministry, with arguably the first paid full time children’s pastor, the first accredited four year children’s ministry bachelor’s degree, and the first nationwide children’s ministry director. But after a few years, I wasn’t sure how the turnout would be, so close to Easter and in its first year back. But I shouldn’t have worried at all. Here’s what I loved about this past week’s conference in Fort Wayne:

1. I was completely surprised by the large turnout. Very large number of kid’s pastors/leaders!

2. The pre conference certifications were a great idea. I got to teach the certification class on the first two years of ministry, and I heard all five certification classes went great. I had a wonderful group of kid’s leaders!

3. The venue seemed to work out well. The Ramada staff were knowledgeable, helpful and prompt. They went above and beyond, helping me make packets for the extra students in my class. The church was next to many hotels and restaurants. The good service on site seemed to go smoothly.

4. The price was great. The conference price included several meals, which is huge. Also the conference hotel block was quite reasonable.

5. I greatly appreciated the awards honoring the kid’s ministry greats who have gone before, and have pioneered in the field of kid’s and family ministry. Some of my personal heroes were honored! 

6. The awards at the end of the conference honoring innovation and effectiveness in kids ministry were touching. One young children’s pastor won a ministry center makeover and much more!

7. The networking was my favorite part. Most of my good kidmin friends were there!

Were you at agkidmin17?? What was YOUR favorite part? What would you like to see at the next one?  Love Trisha

